Amanda de Cadenet.jpeg

Ellen Kuras

Academy Award-nominated Ellen Kuras is a director/cinematographer whose eclectic, visionary work has made a mark in the studio and independent worlds of narrative, documentary, music films and commercials. Her awards and nominations include the Emmy awards, the Independent Spirit Awards, the Eastman Kodak Focus Award, the Women in Film Kodak Vision Award, and a Gotham Award for her entire œuvre. She has won the Best Dramatic Cinematography award an unprecedented three-times at Sundance, and she was the first film technician to receive the NY Women In Film Muse Award.

Her directorial debut, which she also shot, wrote and produced, a documentary about a Laotian refugee family, “THE BETRAYAL/ NERAKHOON," was nominated for an Academy Award in 2009 and won the Primetime Emmy the following year.  

Well-known for her visually stunning work on ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND (2004), and BLOW (2001), as a cinematographer, Ellen has collaborated with directors such as Michael Gondry, Martin Scorsese, Spike Lee, Sam Mendes, Jim Jarmusch and Rebecca Miller. As a second unit director/cinematographer, she's worked with Steve Zaillian on HBO’s The Night Of and Martin Scosese on the pilot of Vinyl. 

Ellen has been honored in special artist retrospectives at the Wexner Center for the Arts and the Walker Center for the Arts in Minneapolis and has served as a grand jury member for various film festivals, including the Sundance Film Festival, the 63rd Berlin international film festival, the Belgrade Film Festival, the Woodstock Film Festival and Camerimage. 

In 2013, Ellen joined The Corner Shop, a commerical production company in Santa Monica, CA, where she has worked as a Director/DP on commericals for Macy’s, Diet Coke, Delta, Humana, Pzifer and Chobani.  

In 2016 she made her TV directorial debut on USA Network's FALLING WATER, followed by directing two episodes of the upcoming Netflix Original show OZARK with Jason Bateman. 

She has been a member of the Amercian Society of Cinematographers since 1999 and a member of the Academy since 1997.